What I Was Before Christ: How and Why I Became a Christian

Like many, I was a frustrated youth convinced there was something to life that seemly all others just weren’t getting and I was going to find it. I grew up in the Catholic Church, yet found within its system very little that was appealing, empowering, or of real interest. I’m sure I could have paid more attention though. Consequently, I used my energies elsewhere, largely with sports, but my spiritual inclinations and hunger would eventfully need to be pursued. Unfortunately, I went the classic path of the postmodern humanist, which is basically the religion of the world, looking to music, movies, book for philosophy while shunning the idea that anything had real truth or value. Thus firmly establishing that power, pleasure, and life were within themselves only a means to an end, my end. I sought a spirit that my ego could define and control, or so I thought. We think we can live unto ourselves, away from our source, but we will live for something and go somewhere. Worshiping the so called great potential of human intellect and making decisions based on the idea that I could truly judge rightly, it was only a matter of time before this faltered and blew up. We see many such results in life when our conscious and insecurities are not dealt with in a manner consistent with God’s workings. In a moment a veil was lifted, leaving only a deep godly sorrow and I knew that God was the only one that could rescue me from my spiritual Frankenstein. In a flash came the realization of just how bankrupt, forged, and counterfeit my intellect and sprit truly were and I knew I was either going to develop some kind of addiction or come to know God. My so called freedom was a deception from the world who deceives. I was finally able to walk and breathe freely, not because of my own works, but because my true identity was powerfully transformed and established in Christ as He was unveiled more and more to me. I felt like I had being unplugged from the matrix of a fallen world system. I was somewhat upset that no one told me what was in the Bible. There is no doubt that for several years it was at times difficult for my soul to catch up with my spirit, which was not aided by a good amount of bad doctrine focused on self and performance. It is right believing that produces right action and change from the inside out. By growing in the knowledge of Christ and realizing that it is grace that teaches, draws us, and keep us, I began to experience the near unconscious change that has caused me to hardly recognize myself from year to year. The snow ball effect of reading and studying God’s word has lead to such a greater refreshment and rush than pervious pursuits that it is like comparing nuggets of gold to mere stones. So in the end I did find what those around me had not; an eternal secure standing with God through Christ. They were religious and even went to church, but had no relationship with Jesus and every level of their internal and external life showed it. My spiritual pursuit was now one of fulfillment as I was astonished daily by the truth and intellectual proof of God’s word, work, person, and love in Christ. He took our sins and our place on the cross so that we may have right standing with God. Understanding this allows us to believe in the fullness of Christ as He longs to be used by those that fall short and to welcome us home.
Therefore if anyone is in Christ, there is a new creation; old things have passed away, and look, new things have come. Now everything is from God, who reconciled us to Himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that is, in Christ, God was reconciling the world to Himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and He has committed the message of reconciliation to us. Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ; certain that God is appealing through us, we plead on Christ’s behalf, Be reconciled to God. He made the One who did not know sin to be sin for us, so that we might become the righteousness of God in Him. (2 Corinthians 5:17-21  HCSB)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Anonymous  On August 21, 2007 at 1:59 am

    I agree that nothing less than the hand of God itself lifted you from the deep grave that you were digging for yourself. I fully believe that you will arise as you already are doing and do exploits for God. May your future works in ministries bring others to the knowledge of the love of God that we have in Christ Jesus!

  • trusting God...  On December 13, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Praise God! I enjoyed reading some of your blogs. Although there is sooo much! It's good. It is sound. Divine. That we are chosen people of God humbles my heart. Was nothing through us, only Him.

    I only wish someone had told you more about our creator. It looks like God's plan will not be twarted. He found you and chose you to be His child. Amen!

Leave a Reply

